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2025 EDUCATION BILL SUMMARIES  

Introduction 

This booklet, Selected House and Senate Education Bill Summaries – 2025 Legislative Session, is 
published annually to provide enrolled copies and summaries of selected education bills passed by the 
Kansas Legislature relating generally to Unified School Districts, Interlocal operatives, and private 
schools.  

The summaries of the bills are prepared by the Kansas State Department of Education. The bills chosen 
include important legislative information related to education. Each bill in its entirety may be found and 
printed on the Kansas Legislature website: https://www.kslegislature.gov 

To select a specific bill, search the bill number under the ‘Find Bill’ drop down on the left-hand side of 
the page, or navigate to the ‘Bills & Laws’ webpage.  

https://www.kslegislature.gov/
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2025 EDUCATION BILL SUMMARIES  

Policy Bills Impacting School Districts 
 

Senate Bill 2  
Greeley County Bond Election and Publication Requirements
 
GREELEY COUNTY BOND ELECTION 
Senate Bill 2 creates a new section of law to validate the results of the election held on May 21, 2024, on 
the question to authorize USD 200 to issue general obligation bonds not to exceed $4.6 million for 
specific facility improvements.  
[Note: The May 21, 2024, bond election in Greeley County was not certified because the county election 
office did not have a website on which to post the notice of election.] 
 
BOND PUBLICATION REQUIREMENTS 
The bill also amends a general statute regarding bond elections. This statute formerly required the 
notice of an election to be published in a newspaper of general circulation in the municipality once a 
week for two consecutive weeks and for the notice to be published on the website of the county election 
office where the election is to take place. Senate Bill 2 amended this statute to only require publication 
on the county election office website if the county election office in the county in which the election 
would take place has a website. If the notice is published on the county election office website, such 
publication shall remain on the website until the day after the election. The bill did not change 
requirements related to publication in a newspaper of general circulation in the municipality.  
 
Enactment Date  
This bill is effective upon publication in the Kansas Register.  

 
### 
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Senate Bill 35  
Statewide Mill Levy 
 
Senate Bill 35 discontinues the statewide 1.0 mill tax levy for state education buildings and 0.5 mill for 
state institutions buildings beginning in tax year 2026. The bill creates demand transfers from the State 
General Fund for the Kansas Education Building Fund and the State Institutions Building Fund beginning 
in fiscal year 2027.  
 
The transfer to the Education Building Fund will be $56.0 million in fiscal year 2027 and will be adjusted 
in future fiscal years to reflect the average percent change in taxable value of all property in the state for 
the preceding 10 years. The transfer to the State Institutions Building Fund will be $25.0 million in fiscal 
year 2027 and will increase by 2 percent of $25.0 million in each future year. 
 
Enactment Date  
This bill is effective upon publication in the Kansas Statute Book.   

 
### 
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Senate Bill 44  
Antisemitism   
 
Senate Bill 44 declares antisemitism and antisemitic acts to be against the public policy of the state of 
Kansas, including, but not limited to, the purposes of public educational institutions and law 
enforcement agencies of the state. The bill adopts a non-legally binding definition of antisemitism and 
antisemitic.  
 
“Antisemitism” and “antisemitic” are defined in the same manner as the international Holocaust 
remembrance alliance’s working definition of antisemitism, including the contemporary examples, as in 
effect on May 26, 2016.  
 
“Antisemitism” and “antisemitic” include:   

• Encouraging, supporting, praising, participating in, or threatening violence against Jewish people 
or property; 

• Wearing masks to conceal a person’s identity with the intent to harass or discriminate against 
Jewish students, faculty, or employees on school property; and  

• Incorporating or allowing funding of antisemitic curriculum or activities in any domestic or study 
abroad programs or classes.  

 
The bill also states that nothing in the bill shall be construed to diminish or infringe on any right 
protected under the first amendment to the constitution of the United States or the bill of rights of the 
constitution of the state of Kansas.  
 
Enactment Date  
The bill is in effect upon publication in the Kansas Register.  
 

### 
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Senate Bill 45  
Graduation Rate Calculation  
 
Senate Bill 45 establishes a four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate calculation for purposes of 
accreditation.  
 
The bill requires the State Board of Education to calculate a four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate 
for each school district and each of the schools in the district, including virtual schools, and exclude 
students who:  

• Had not earned sufficient credits to be expected to graduate in the same school year as the 
student’s cohort at the time the student transferred to and enrolled in the school or school 
district; or  

• Were enrolled in the school or school district but subsequently transferred to a nonaccredited 
private school in Kansas or another state.  

 
Enactment Date  
The bill is in effect upon publication in the statute book.  
 

### 
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Senate Bill 114  
Ancillary Activities for Non-public and Virtual School Students 
 
Senate Bill 114 permits non-public and virtual school students participating in school activities governed 
by the Kansas State High School Activities Association (KSHSAA) to participate in ancillary school activities 
related to the KSHSAA activity they are participating in.  
 
Participation in KSHSAA activities 
Current law allows for non-public school and virtual school students who meet requirements of law to 
participate in activities regulated, supervised, promoted, and developed by KSHSAA. The bill amends law 
to require participating students to also allow such students to participate in any district-sponsored 
events, ceremonies, programs, or other functions directly related to the activity. The board of education 
of a school district can adopt policies regarding participation of such students in district-sponsored 
events, ceremonies, programs, or other functions that are not directly related to the activity.  
 
The bill also deems a student that withdraws from a school district and subsequently enrolls in an 
accredited private school, non-public elementary or secondary school, or a virtual school to be ineligible 
for full participation in any activities offered for a period of time subject to KSHSAA rules unless the 
student was eligible and participating in the activities at the school the student withdrew from. However, 
such students could be permitted limited participation in any qualifying activities, in accordance with the 
school district and KSHSAA eligibility policy requirements.  
 
The bill states that a student participating in KSHSAA activities is entitled to all rights and subject to all 
responsibilities of any other participating student. The bill also deems it unlawful for any school district 
of KSHSAA to discriminate against any student who meets requirements under the law based on the 
student’s enrollment status.  
 
ELIGIBILITY  
The bill amends the eligibility requirements to allow students enrolled in the Kansas Academy of 
Mathematics and Science (KAMS) to participate in KSHSAA activities in the school district in which KAMS 
is located. Such students must meet the following requirements:  

• Be enrolled in KAMS; 
• Comply with requirements established in law; 
• Meet applicable age and eligibility requirements outlined by KSHSAA; and  
• Pay any fees required by the school district.  

o Such fees must be required for all students participating in the activity.  
 
Enactment Date  
The bill is in effect upon publication in the Kansas register. [Note: This bill was published in the Kansas 
Register on May 1, 2025.] 
 

### 
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Senate Bill 175  
Athletic Trainers Licensure Act  
 
Senate Bill 175 amends the Athletic Trainers Licensure Act to update the definition of “athletic training”. 
The bill provides for a licensure exemption, makes changes to the application for licensure, and makes 
conforming technical amendments.  
 
DEFINITIONS 
The bill amends the definition of athletic training to mean:  

• The practice of injury prevention, physical evaluation, emergency care and referral or physical 
reconditioning relating to athletic activity including, but not limited to sports participation, 
exercise, fitness training, strength and conditioning work, recreational physical activities, and 
competitive athletics.  

o This includes wellness promotion, risk management, immediate or emergency care, 
examination, assessment and therapeutic intervention, or rehabilitation of athletic injury 
and illness; and  

o Making clinical decisions to determine if consultation or referrals are necessary, health 
care administration, professional responsibility, performance of athletic training 
research and educating and consulting with the public regarding safe participation in 
athletic activities and proper training methods.  

 
EXEMPTION FOR ATHLETIC TRAINER LICENSURE  
The bill provides for an exemption to the Kansas Athletic Trainer Licensure Act to allow individuals 
accompanying an athletic team or organization from another state or jurisdiction to provide services of 
an athletic trainer in Kansas without holding a Kansas athletic trainer license. These individuals must 
meet the following requirements:  

• Licensed and able to practice as an athletic trainer in another state, District of Columbia, territory, 
or foreign county; and  

• Provide the services of an athletic trainer only to the members of the athletic team or organization 
that traveled to Kansas.  

 
CHANGES TO APPLICATION 
The bill eliminates the requirement for an application for licensure as an athletic trainer to be made in 
writing.  
 
Enactment Date  
This bill is in effect upon publication in the statute book.  
 

### 
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House Bill 2022  
Special Elections 
 
House Bill 2022 amends provisions related to municipalities holding special elections to limit the dates 
on which a special election can be held. For school districts, a special election would include an election 
required for the issuance of bonds.  
 
The bill amends the definition of “special election” in law to require any special election to be held on the 
first Tuesday following the first Monday in March of any year, or on the same day as a general or primary 
election. The bill also makes conforming amendments to reflect such changes in other election laws.   
 
Enactment Date  
This bill is in effect upon publication in the statute book.  
 

### 
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House Bill 2102   
Advanced Enrollment for Military Students 

House Bill 2102 creates a new section of law to require school districts to allow military students to 
enroll prior to moving into the district if the student provides evidence that the student’s parent or 
guardian will be stationed at a military installation in the state during the current or immediately 
succeeding school year. No proof of address would be required to be presented at the time of 
enrollment, however, residence within the district would be required for attendance if the school district 
does not have open seats at the time of enrollment.  
 
These requirements would apply to grades kindergarten through grade 12, and preschool, if the school 
district has an existing preschool program. Provisions of the bill would not require a school district to 
begin a preschool program to accommodate enrollment of a pre-kindergarten military student.    
 
The bill also requires a school district to take measures to ensure military students begin receiving 
required education and related services upon attendance if such student has a special education plan, 
such as an individualized education plan (IEP) or a 504 plan.  
 
The bill defines “military student” in the same manner as defined in School District State Aid Law (K.S.A. 
72-5139). 
 
The bill also makes technical amendments in the Interstate Compact on Educational Opportunity for 
Military Children.  
 
Enactment Date  
This bill is in effect upon publication in the statute book.  
 

### 

https://www.ksrevisor.gov/statutes/chapters/ch72/072_051_0039.html
https://www.ksrevisor.gov/statutes/chapters/ch72/072_051_0039.html
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House Bill 2160  
Municipal Employee Whistleblower Act 
 
House Bill 2160 establishes the Kansas Municipal Employee Whistleblower Act to provide legal 
protection for municipal employees who report conduct that is dangerous or illegal.  
 
DEFINITIONS 

• “Auditing agency” is defined as: 
o The Legislative Post Auditor; 
o Any employee of the Division of Post Audit; 
o Any firm performing audit services pursuant to a contract with the Post Auditor; 
o Any state agency, federal agency, or authority performing auditing or oversight activities 

under authority of any provision of law authorizing such activities; or 
o The Inspector General established pursuant to K.S.A. 75-7427.  

• “Disciplinary Action” is defined as any dismissal, demotion, transfer, reassignment, suspension, 
reprimand, warning of possible dismissal or withholding of work.  

• “Municipality” means any county, city, or unified school district or any office, department, division, 
board, commission, bureau, agency or unit thereof.  

 
KANSAS MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEE WHISTLEBLOWER ACT 
The bill prohibits a supervisor or appointing authority of a municipality from prohibiting any of the 
following actions, or taking disciplinary action against an employee for:  

• Discussing the operations of the municipality or other matters of public concern, including 
matters relating to public health, safety, or welfare with any member of the governing body of the 
municipality or auditing agency; 

• Reporting violations of state or federal law, municipal resolution, or adopted rules and regulations, 
resolution, or ordinance;  

• Failing to provide notice of a report filed to the supervisor or appointing authority prior to the 
report being filed;  

• Disclosing malfeasance or other misappropriation of moneys held by a municipality to any person, 
agency, or organization.  

 
The bill states that it shall not be construed to:  

• Prohibit a supervisor or appointing authority from requiring an employee to inform such 
authorities of governing body or auditing agency requests for information submitted to the 
municipality, or requests made by an employee to the members of the governing body or an 
auditing agency on behalf of the agency; 

• Permit an employee to leave the employee’s assigned work areas during normal work hours 
without following applicable rules and regulations or policies pertaining to employee leave unless 
the employee is requested by a member of the governing body of the municipality to appear 
before the governing body or by an auditing agency to appear at a meeting with officials of the 
auditing agency; 

• Authorize an employee to represent the employee’s personal opinions as the opinions of the 
municipality; 
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• Prohibit disciplinary action of any employee who discloses information that:  
o The employee knows to be false or that the employee discloses with reckless disregard 

for the truth or falsity of such information; 
o The employee knows to be exempt from required disclosure under the open records act;  
o Is confidential or privileged under state or federal law or court rule; or 
o Is disclosed due to a corrupt motive rather than a good faith concern for a wrongful 

activity.  
 
The bill states that any disciplinary action alleged to have taken place can be brought to court of 
competent jurisdiction within 90 days after the alleged violation, except by officers or employees eligible 
to administrative appeals for disciplinary actions. An officer or employee can seek damages or other 
relief the court deems necessary. The court may also award the prevailing party all or a portion of the 
costs of the action, including reasonable attorney and witness fees.  
 
In a municipality that creates an administrative process to adjudicate disciplinary actions, officers or 
employees who are eligible to appeal disciplinary actions are authorized to do so within 90 days after 
the alleged disciplinary action. If the adjudicatory body finds the disciplinary action to be unreasonable, 
the bill directs the adjudicatory body to modify or reverse the municipality’s action and order relief for 
the employee as the body deems appropriate. The bill also authorizes any party to appeal a decision of 
the adjudicative body under the Kansas Judicial Review Act.  
 
Each municipality is required to post a copy of the Kansas Municipal Whistleblower Act in locations 
where it can reasonably be expected to come to the attention of all employees of the municipality.  
  
Enactment Date  
The bill will be in effect upon publication in the statute book.  
 

### 
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House Bill 2382 
State Board Member Compensation and Fetal Development 
Presentation  
 
House Bill 2382 requires school districts to include a human fetal development presentation in certain 
courses or instruction and amends law related to State Board of Education Member compensation.  
 
FETAL DEVELOPMENT PRESENTATION 
House Bill 2382 requires any school district that offers any course or other instruction that addresses 
human growth, human development, or human sexuality to include, as part of the course or instruction: 
A presentation of a high-quality, computer-generated animation or a high-definition ultrasound of at 
least three minutes in duration that shows the development of the brain, heart, and other vital organs in 
early human fetal development.  
 
STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION MEMBER COMPENSATION  
The bill also requires the State Board to determine the compensation to be received by board members 
for their service at regularly scheduled meetings of the State Board of Education, and any other in-state 
meeting for participation in matters related to the educational interest of the State of Kansas.  
 
Enactment Date  
The bill is in effect upon publication in the statute book.  
 

### 
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House Bill 2031 
Motorcycle Instructor Licensure  
 
House Bill 2031 amends current law to allow a driving school or motorcycle instructor to hold a driver’s 
license from any state, not just Kansas, if they meet all other applicable requirements to be an 
instructor. The bill requires a motorcycle instructor to hold a valid class M driver’s license or equivalent 
motorcycle license from another state.  
 
Enactment Date  
The bill is in effect upon publication in the Kansas Register.  
 

### 
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House Bill 2033 
Approved At-Risk Education Programs 
 
House Bill 2033 amends law related to add any nonprofit organization accredited by the International 
Multisensory Structured Language Education Council to the list of approved at-risk educational 
programs.  
 
Enactment Date  
The bill is in effect upon publication in the statute book.  

 
### 
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Senate Substitute for House Bill 2125  
20 Mill Authorization, Provisions Related to Municipal Budgeting  
 
Senate Sub. for HB 2125 reauthorizes the statewide 20 mill levy for school finance, modifies dates 
related to municipal budgeting, modifies the form required for revenue neutral rate notices, continues 
the state reimbursement of printing and postage costs related to revenue neutral rate notices, and 
prohibits filing fees imposed by the State Board of Tax Appeals when prior appeals are pending.  
 
STATEWIDE 20 MILL SCHOOL FINANCE LEVY  
Senate Sub. for HB 2125 reauthorizes the statewide 20 mill levy for school finance for school years 
2025-2026 and 2026-2027. 
 
MUNICIPAL BUDGET DATE CHANGES 
The bill amends the deadline for taxing entities to annually certify, on or before October 1, to the county 
clerk the amount of property tax to be levied. Under former law, taxing entities not exceeding the 
revenue neutral rate had to certify by August 25, while taxing entities exceeding the revenue neutral rate 
was October 1.  
 
If taxing entities do not submit budget information by 5:00 p.m. on October 1, the bill requires the 
county clerk to use the previous year’s budget information and amount of property tax to be levied.  
The bill also moves the date by which county treasurers are required to mail property tax statements 
and tax information forms to each taxpayer from December 15 to December 1.   
 
REVENUE NEUTRAL RATE NOTICE FORMS 
The bill provides, through calendar year 2026, state reimbursement for printing and postage costs 
incurred by county clerks for required notices of proposed tax increases beyond the revenue neutral 
rate to be mailed.  
The bill also states that beginning in calendar year 2025, the following changes are to be made to the 
required notices of proposed tax increase forms. The bill requires such form to:  

• Include a column indicating the mill levy utilized in the calculation of:  
o The tax for the preceding year 
o The tax for the current year based on the revenue neutral rate 
o The amount of tax proposed for the current year 

• Eliminate a column specifying the amount the proposed tax amount exceeds the tax at the 
revenue neutral rate; 

• Include information for the aggregate amount of tax levied by each taxing subdivision for the 
current and prior year and the difference between such amounts in both dollars and percentages; 
and 

• Refer to amounts of tax to be levied by a taxing subdivision in the current year as “Proposed Tax” 
rather than “Maximum Tax,” which was former law.  

  
STATE BOARD OF TAX APPEALS FILING FEES 
The bill prohibits the State Board of Tax Appeals (BOTA) from charging a filing fee to a taxpayer who has 
an appeal from the prior year that is still pending before BOTA for the same parcel of property.  
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Enactment Date  
The bill is in effect upon publication in the Kansas Register.  
 

###
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2025 Education Bill Summaries  

Budget Bill 

Senate Bill 125 – Budget Bill 
K-12 Education Appropriations 

Senate Bill 125 makes appropriations for the Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE) for Fiscal 
Year (FY) 2025, 2026, and 2027.  

FY 2025 
For KSDE, the bill: 
Appropriates:  

• $1.4 million for Kansas Public Employees Retirement Systems (KPERS) school employer 
contributions of non-Unified School Districts (USDs); 

• $10.3 million for KPERS USDs. 
 
Lapses:  

• $2.1 million SGF for School District Juvenile Detention Facilities and Flint Hills Job Corps Center 
Grants; 

• $130.6 million SGF from the State Foundation Aid account; 
• $12.7 million SGF from the Supplemental State Aid account; 
• $50,000 in special revenue funds for the SparkWheel program.  

 
Including these adjustments, the total appropriation for KSDE for FY 2025 is $6.6 billion, including $4.8 
billion SGF.  
 
FY 2026 
For KSDE, the bill appropriates $6.7 billion, including $5.0 billion SGF. This includes $6.0 billion, including 
$4.9 billion SGF for the major categories of school finance, KPERS USDs, and KPERS non-USDs.  
 
State General Fund. The bill appropriates the following from the SGF:  

• $16.0 million for operating expenditures;  
• $80,000 for the Center for READing; 
• $33.9 million for KPERS non-USDs; 
• $527.6 million for KPERS USDs; 
• $2.8 million for ACT and the WorkKeys Assessments Programs; 
• $1.5 million for Career and Technical Education Transportation State Aid; 
• $67,700 for Education Commission of the States dues; 
• $5.1 million for School District Juvenile Detention Facilities and Flint Hills Job Corps Center 

Grants; 
• $2.5 million for School Food Assistance; 
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• $2.0 million for Virtual Math Education Program; 
• $10.0 million for Special Education State Aid; 

o The bill requires each individual school district’s excess costs percentage and specific 
dollar amount when reporting and publishing the district-level excess costs pursuant to 
K.S.A. 72-3422a for FY 2026.    

• $110,000 for Educable Deaf-Blind and Severely Handicapped Children’s Program Aid; 
• $1.0 million for Child care Accelerator Grants in the Children’s Cabinet.  

 
Special Revenue Funds. The bill appropriates the following from fee funds and no-limit special revenue 
funds, including federal funds. The bill also appropriates the following from the Children’s Initiatives 
Fund (CIF):   

• $375,000 for the Children’s Cabinet Accountability Fund; 
• $23.7 million for CIF grants; 
• $9.4 million for the Parent Education Program, commonly known as Parents as Teachers; 
• $4.2 million for the Pre-K Pilot Program; 
• $1.4 million for Early Childhood Infrastructure; 
• $1.5 million for the Dolly Parton Imagination Library; 
• $250,000 for Child care Accelerator Grants.  

 
Transfers. The bill authorizes the following transfers: 

• $550,000 on March 30, 2026, and $550,000 on June 30, 2026, from the State Safety Fund to the 
SGF to reimburse other state agency costs for services provided to KSDE; 

• $93,750 on July 1, 2025, and quarterly thereafter, from the State Highway Fund of the 
Department of Transportation to the School Bus Safety Fund of KSDE; 

• An amount certified by the Commissioner of Education from the Motorcycle Safety Fund of KSDE 
to the Motorcycle Safety Fund of the State Board of Regents on July 1, 2025, to cover costs of 
driver’s license programs conducted by community colleges; and 

• $70,000 on July 1, 2025, from the Universal Service Administrative Company (USAC) E-Rate 
Program Federal Fund of the State Board of Regents to the Education Technology Coordinator 
Fund of KSDE. 

 
The bill authorizes the Commissioner of Education to transfer any part of an SGF appropriation for KSDE 
to another SGF appropriation for FY 2026.  
  
The bill appropriates $41.4 million from the Expanded Lottery Act Revenues Fund (ELARF) for KPERS 
non-USDs.  
 
The bill also appropriates $285,059 from the Kansas Endowment for Youth (KEY) Fund for the Children’s 
Cabinet administration.  
 
Lapses. The bill lapses the following: 

• $156.1 million SGF from the State Foundation Aid Account; and 
• $4.0 million SGF from the Supplemental State Aid Account.  

 
The bill authorizes KSDE to use any line of appropriation to expand current contracted literacy training 
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efforts for elementary school teachers to include middle school teachers, in order to help students who 
have not reached grade-level literacy competency and the Legislature encourages the agency to make 
such expenditures for fiscal year 2026.  
 
The bill requires KSDE to expend not less than $500,000 from existing FY 2026 funding sources to 
provide the state match for the E-Rate program.  
 
The bill requires KSDE to expend not less than $320,000 from existing FY 2026 funding sources to 
provide for the development of and implementation of a pilot program that uses virtual reality 
technology to introduce youth in grades 6 through 8 to support for developing individual plans of study 
that guide their high school curriculum. The pilot program would be administered through KSDE and 
implemented by the Kansas youth career discovery partners and require a match of $1 of nonstate or 
private money for every $2 of state money.   
 
The bill also requires KSDE to pay $345,500 to USD 112, Central Plains Unified School District, for adult 
virtual school credits submitted for funding in the 2021-2022 year, out of existing FY 2026 funding 
sources.  
 
The bill states that for FY 2026, a foreign exchange student who resides with a host family in a school 
district is permitted to enroll in and attend such school district as if the student is a resident of the 
school district and not be subject to the open-seat lottery.  
 
FY 2027 
State General Fund. The bill appropriates the following from the SGF:  

• $3.0 billion for State Foundation Aid; 
• $637.0 million for Supplemental State Aid; 
• $611.0 million for Special Education State Aid.  

o The bill requires each individual school district’s excess costs percentage and specific 
dollar amount when reporting and publishing the district-level excess costs pursuant to 
K.S.A. 72-3422a for FY 2027. 

 
The bill authorized expenditures from the State School District Finance Fund and the Mineral Production 
Education Fund.  
 
Enactment Date 
This bill is in effect upon publication in the Kansas Register. [Note: This bill was published in the Kansas 
Register on April 25, 2025.] 

 
### 
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2025 Education Bill Summaries  

Bills impacting the Kansas State 
Department of Education 

Senate Bill 14  
Continuous Budget Bill 
 
Senate Bill 14 establishes a system for a continuous budget in which existing appropriations are carried 
forward into subsequent fiscal years unless amended, lapsed, or eliminated by the Legislature.  
 
Senate bill 14 states that if the Legislature does not amend, lapse, or eliminate any existing 
appropriation in the current fiscal year before July 1 of any year, the appropriations approved in the 
prior fiscal year will be in effect for the new fiscal year and subsequent fiscal years until amended, 
lapsed, or eliminated by the legislature. The bill states that any appropriations that require approval by 
the Governor, State Finance Council, Secretary of Administration (Secretary), or other entity are 
conditional appropriations which only become available once they have been approved by the entity 
required by law.  
 
If a continuing appropriation from any account or fund is determined to have accomplished its purpose 
or is no longer necessary, the Secretary is authorized to lapse the appropriation amount or to decrease 
the expenditure limit. All continuing appropriations are subject to a specific provision that when and if 
the federal government funding for any portion of a program is reduced or terminated, state 
participation in the program can be reduced by the Secretary in the same proportion as the federal 
reduction. Before taking these actions, the Secretary is required to consult with the Director of the 
Budget and the Director of Legislative Research. These provisions do not apply to continuing 
appropriations for the Legislative branch or the Judicial branch. 
 
The Secretary would also have the authority to make temporary allocations (borrow) between 
appropriated funds and special revenue funds when the balance of the fund is insufficient to meet 
obligations. This action would also require consultation with the Director of the Budget and the Director 
of Legislative Research and would also require approval from the State Finance Council. Non-State 
General Fund borrowing would be limited to no more than $400 million and SGF borrowing would be 
limited to 9.0 percent of total SGF expenditures in that fiscal year. If that amount was determined to be 
insufficient, the Secretary could borrow up to an additional 3.0 percent for up to 30 days. The first fund 
to be considered as a source of borrowing would be the Budget Stabilization Fund. Funds borrowed 
would be reimbursed for lost revenue when statute specifies that the fund retains such revenue. The 
Secretary would also be required to report any borrowing of funds to the House Committee on 
Appropriations and the Senate Committee on Ways and Means.  
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Enactment Date 
The bill is in effect upon publication in the Kansas Register and sunsets on July 1, 2030.  
[Note: this bill was published in the Kansas Register on May 1, 2025.] 
 

### 
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Senate Bill 77  
Administrative Rules and Regulations  
 
Senate Bill 77 requires agencies to provide written notice to businesses, local governments, and other 
known stakeholders regarding the agency’s proposed expedited revocation of a rule or regulation 
identified by the state agency. Continuing law requires agencies to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed notice of revocation upon the written request of a member of the public. The bill also removes 
agencies that no longer exist or no longer have rules and regulation authority from existing statute 
containing the list of agencies subject to these requirements.  
 
Enactment Date 
The bill is in effect upon publication in the Kansas Register. 
 

### 
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Senate Bill 166  
Fostering Competitive Career Opportunities Act  
 
Senate Bill 166 establishes the Fostering Competitive Career Opportunities Act, which prohibits state 
employers from making hiring decisions based solely on an applicant’s lack of a post-secondary degree. 
The bill does not apply to positions where a postsecondary degree is justifiably necessary.  
 
The Legislative and Judicial branches are excluded from the definition of ‘state employers’ for purposes 
of the bill.  
 
The bill also would not apply to positions that are filled by political appointment.  
 
Enactment Date 
The bill is in effect upon publication in the statute book.  
 

### 
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House Bill 2045 
Office of Early Childhood  
 
House Bill 2045 establishes the Kansas Office of Early Childhood and updates certain laws related to 
requirements for licensed child care centers and child care homes.   
 

Kansas Office of Early Childhood  
 

ROLES AND RESPONSIBILITIES 
The Director of Early Childhood must ensure efficient use of funds for the provision of child care services 
and report such efficient use through the following: 

• Maximizing funds for child care services, support programs, and grant initiatives for efficiency 
and reducing administrative waste, fraud and abuse, and ensuring greatest possible benefit to 
eligible families and providers;  

• Establishing clear performance metrics and accountability measures to ensure effective use of 
state and federal resources, including conducting regular audits, outcome-based evaluations, 
and cost-efficiency reviews; and  

• Complying with all rules and regulations adopted pursuant to the requirements set forth in 
K.S.A. 39-709 regarding eligibility requirements for temporary assistance for needy families.   

 
The Office will be responsible for: 

• The implementation of child care policies, processes, procedures, and funding with direction 
from the Governor, the Director of Early Childhood, and the Legislature; 

• The implementation of policies, processes, and awards granted through the Children’s Cabinet, 
subject to appropriations and approval of the Legislature; 

• The provision of mediation, support, and problem-solving resolutions through child care 
advocacy services;  

• Providing easily accessible support to the public and persons providing and receiving child care 
services;  

• Ensuring access to information, services, resolution of issues, rules and regulations, and funding 
in a user-friendly manner as prescribed by the Director; 

• Serving as a central point of contact for federal and state agencies on child care services, 
funding and grants; and 

• Maximizing administrative efficiencies to reduce burdens on families and improve access to 
early childhood services.  

 
On or before January 20, 2026, and each year after, the Director must submit a report to the Kansas 
Legislature that includes:  

• The allocation and expenditure of funds and resources 
• Measurable outcomes of programs funded through the office, including, but not limited to, 

compliance with safety regulations and the number of complaints received and resolved 
• Identified inefficiencies within the office within the office and system and the corrective action 

taken in response; 
• Recommendations for improving fiscal stewardship, service delivery, implementation of 

statutory requirement, and any potential changes; 
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• Updates on changes to rules and regulations; 
• All data and metrics related to service rates for children and families, workforce and private 

actors, service delivery and fiscal efficiency of all programs, and recommendations for 
continuation or termination of such programs; and  

• Any pilot program, including, but not limited to, the number of participating day care facilities or 
youth development programs and the number of children attending such facilities or programs, 
provisions of statutes and regulations waived by the Director, recommendations for changes to 
these provisions, and a summary of findings form the pilot program based on available 
information.  

 
STAFFING 
Director  
The Director of Early Childhood (Director) is required to: 

• Prepare, submit to the legislature, and implement plans for a comprehensive service delivery 
system for children and families;  

• Facilitate and coordinate interagency cooperation toward the goal of the agency with other state 
agencies, departments, or boards serving children and families; 

• Provide a central contact for information and assistance for children, families, communities, and 
businesses in need of early childhood care and related services; 

• Serve as the primary contact for the Kansas Legislature on policy, administrative support, and 
constituent services relating to early childhood care and related services; 

• Enter into contracts and agreements as necessary or incidental to the performance of the 
powers and duties of the executive director; 

• Charge and collect a fee necessary for the administration and processing of paper documents, 
including, but not limited to, applications, registrations, permits, licenses, certifications, renewals, 
reports, and remittance of fees that are necessary or incidental to the execution of the laws 
relating to the Office;  

• Appoint and oversee Deputy Directors within the Office; 
• Transition the administration of the following programs and state functions outlined in the bill to 

the office; 
o Child care subsidy; 
o Children’s cabinet and trust fund; 
o Day care facility licensing, youth development programs, school-age programs, and early 

youth care programs; 
o Child care quality; 
o Head Start collaboration office; 
o Healthy Families America; 
o Kansas Early Head Start Child Care Partnership; 
o Kansas Early Head Start Home Visitation; 
o Maternal and Child Health Home Visitation; 
o Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood home visitation; and  
o Parents as Teachers 

• Enter into agreements with the secretary of administration for the provision of shared services, 
including personnel and administrative services;  

• Adopt, amend, or revoke any rules and regulations necessary to carry out requirements of the 
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bill and the programs and duties of the Office;  
• Ensure that all Kansas Children’s Cabinet functions are executed in accordance with statute; 
• Submit an annual appropriations request to the Legislature; and 
• Maintain an office in Topeka, Kansas.   

The Director is charged with organizing the Office in the manner that the Director deems most efficient. 
The Director may also establish policies governing the office and the administration of each division 
within the Office.  
 
Deputy Directors  
The bill outlines three Deputy Directors to be appointed by the Director, each of which would be in the 
unclassified service under the Kansas Civil Service Act. Deputy Directors perform duties and exercise 
powers as the Director prescribes, and powers prescribed by law. The Deputy Directors will also act for 
and exercise the powers of the Director to the extent that authority is delegated by the Director.  
They are identified as follows: 

• Deputy Director of the Division of Home Visitation 
• Deputy Director of the Kansas Children’s Cabinet 
• Deputy Director of Child Care Licensure and Finance 

The bill outlines the duties and responsibilities for each of the Deputy Directors.  
 
Child Care Ombudsman  
The Child Care Ombudsman will:  

• Serve as a central point of contact for concerns regarding the delivery and system of child care 
services, including investigating and addressing complaints, concerns, and inquiries in a timely 
manner from the public regarding child care services, providers, and related programs; 

• Act as an advocate for parents, families, and child care providers by facilitating communication 
between stakeholders and ensuring concerns are resolved efficiently and fairly;  

• Work collaboratively with state agency, Director, service providers, and advocacy organizations 
to improve the quality, accessibility, and affordability of child care services in Kansas;  

• Provide clear guidance and information, in conjunction with the Director, to the public about 
child care regulations, available support programs, and how to access services when concerns 
arise;  

• Submit an annual report to the Director, to be shared with the Legislature detailing the number 
and nature of concerns addressed, actions taken, and recommendations for improvements in 
child care services and policies; 

• Review all revocations of licensure upon a complaint and make appeal to the Director. If an 
unsatisfactory determination is reached, the provider can appeal through the administrative 
procedure act; and  

• Recommend changes in policies, rules and regulations, or policies to improve the functioning of 
child care services in Kansas to the director, the Governor, and the Legislature.  

 
CHILDREN’S CABINET 
The bill amends current statute regarding the Kansas Children’s Cabinet to expand the membership of 
the Cabinet from 15 members to 18 members. The three new members are identified as the Director of 
the Office of Early Childhood (non-voting member), a legislative member to be appointed by the Majority 
Leader of the House of Representatives (voting member), and a legislative member appointed by the 
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Majority Leader of the Senate (voting member). The bill clarifies that the five members to be appointed 
as members of the public and the legislative member appointments are the only voting members on the 
Cabinet. The voting members are tasked with appointing a Chairperson from among the voting 
members. The bill also states that each voting member serves at the pleasure of the voting member’s 
appointing authority.  
 

The bill requires the Cabinet to review each individual application submitted to the Cabinet for any grant 
funding opportunities and to allocate each grant administered by the Office. The bill authorizes the 
Cabinet to adopt rules and regulations as necessary.  
 

The bill requires payments for subsistence allowances, mileage, and other expenses to be paid from 
available appropriations to the Office. [Note: Current law requires this to be paid from available 
appropriations made to the Department for Children and Families.] 
 
CHILDREN’S INITIATIVES FUND 
Under current law, the Children’s Cabinet is responsible for advising the Governor and Legislature 
regarding the use of moneys credited to the Children’s Initiatives Fund. The bill adds the Director to the 
list of parties to be advised by the Cabinet. Additionally, the bill clarifies that the existing Children’s 
Initiatives Accountability Fund is to the under the purview of the Office of Early Childhood.  
 
TRANSITION TEAM  
The bill provides for the development of an Interagency Transition Team to be appointed by the 
Governor to begin operation after July 1, 2025. The Governor would be required to appoint the Director 
by January 1, 2026, and the Office will be required to begin transitioning programs from current state 
agencies to the newly established Office. All identified programs will be under the direction and 
supervision of the Director, including staff and other operational functions, by July 1, 2026.  
 
TRANSFER OF EXISTING STATE AGENCY FUNDS AND EMPLOYEES 
The bill states that all rules and regulations, orders, and directives of state agencies currently related to 
the programs transferred are to continue to be effective and be deemed to be rules and regulations, 
orders, and directives of the newly established Office until revised, amended, revoked, or nullified by law. 
The Office would succeed to all property, property rights, and records of such agencies used for or 
pertaining to the transferred powers, duties, and functions of such agencies.  
 
The bill also transfers all funds and accounts appropriated or reappropriated that were used for or 
pertaining to the powers, duties, and functions of programs transferred to the Office for the purpose 
the appropriation was originally made. The Director will certify the amount of each account of the state 
general fund or special revenue fund of the transferred funds. Any conflicts regarding the proper 
disposition of unexpended balances, property, property rights, personnel or records as a result of the 
transfer of programs to the Office would be determined by the Governor.  
 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSURE  
After July 1, 2026, the bill adds the Office to the list of licensing state agencies required to adopt rules 
and regulations in the expedited state licensure procedure statute for applicants who are spouses of 
active military service members. This section relates to licensed, certified, or registered military service 
members, military spouses, or individuals who have established, or intend to establish residency in 
Kansas. The bill requires the Office to provide information to the Kansas Legislative Research 
Department as required to fulfill requirements of current law.   
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Licensed Child Care Centers  
REQUIRED STAFF 
Each licensed care center that provides care to any number or type of child must hire a program 
director or lead teacher who:  

• Is at least 18 years of age; 
• Has a high school diploma or equivalent; and 
• Has one of at least four educational or experience-based criteria specific to such license as 

determined by the Director, which must include one non-academic experience-based option for 
qualifications under the provisions of the bill.  

Each licensed care center may also hire assistant teachers:  
• Each assistant teacher must be 16 years of age and have the necessary skills and abilities as 

determined by the Director. The Director may not require assistant teachers to meet 
educational requirements. Waivers for these requirements can be granted on a case-by-case 
basis by the Secretary in accordance with Section 5.  

 
A licensed child care center would be required to meet the legal requirements of the local jurisdiction 
where the child care center is located for fire protection, water supply, and sewage disposal.  
 
Licensed Child Care Homes 
The bill requires that for each licensure year, beginning after July 1, 2025, each person who provides 
care to children in a licensed child care home must complete professional development training in an 
amount determined by the Secretary of Health and Environment (Secretary) of up to 10 clock hours per 
licensure year. Such training must include a minimum of eight hours of training specified by the 
Secretary. 

As part of this professional development training required:  
• Each person who provides care to children in a licensed child care home must submit proof of 

completion of up to four hours of outside training in child care or any related subject to the 
Secretary; and  

• A person who maintains a licensed child care home with one provider, if the provider provides 
care simultaneously to four infants at any time during the licensure year, must submit to the 
Secretary proof of completion of at least three hours of professional development training in an 
infant-specific subject.  

• The Secretary must retain records of such person’s compliance with professional development 
requirement. 

 
The Secretary must update rules and regulations to not require licensure for an individual who: 

• Provides care for less than 35 hours, unless otherwise increased by the Secretary, to four or 
fewer children. No more than two of the four total children may be infants who are not related 
to the individual by blood, marriage, or legal adoption; or 

• Individuals who provide care for children in such child’s own home, or when care is arranged 
between friends and neighbors on an irregular basis.  

  
The bill prohibits the Secretary from requiring a licensee to live in the child care home as a condition for 
licensure. The bill would authorize a licensee to request a waiver regarding licensure conditions in a 
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manner approved by the Secretary, and the bill requires the request to contain the provisions being 
sought to be waived and the reasons for the request.  
 
These requirements will transfer to the Director of the Office of Early Childhood on or after July 1, 2026, 
and the waiver requests shall be submitted to the Deputy Director of Child Care Licensure and Finance. 
Upon recommendation from the Deputy Director, the Director is allowed to grant waivers on a case-by-
case basis.  
 
Pilot Program for Child Care Facilities and Youth Development Programs 
A youth development program is defined as a child care facility where youth activities are conducted 
that is not located within an individual’s residence and serves children who are enrolled in or attending 
kindergarten or are less than 18 years of age. The bill renames drop-in programs as youth development 
programs and states the term ‘drop-in program’ in any statute and regulation, contract, or other 
document would refer to a youth development program.  
 
On or after July 1, 2026, the Director is authorized to develop and operate pilot programs designed to 
increase the availability or capacity of child care facilities in the state. The pilot programs are authorized 
to request state funding for operations, subject to appropriations. The bill also authorizes the Director 
to grant licensure to an individual to maintain a child care facility or youth development program in a 
pilot program that waives the requirements or rules and regulations regarding licensure and operations 
of a child care facility or youth development program, including requirements for staff, for up to five 
years with the option to extend for an additional two years. If the Director determines a pilot program 
has been successful and will increase availability or capacity of child care facilities in the state, the 
Director will make suggestions and recommendations to the Legislature for statutory changes to child 
care facilities and youth development programs and adopt any rules and regulations consistent with 
findings of the pilot program, including additional licensure categories if necessary.  
 
On or before the first day of each regular legislative session, the Director must prepare and submit a 
report to the Legislature regarding any pilot programs. The report must include, but not be limited to: 

• The number of participating child care facilities or youth development programs; 
• Provisions of statutes and regulations waived by the Director; 
• Recommendations for any changes; and  
• A summary of findings from the pilot program based on available information  

 
Lexie’s Law Transfer 
The bill transfers statues related to Lexie’s law currently under KDHE to the Office. Lexie’s law contains 
provisions enacted in 2010 requiring inspections of child care facilities; issuing licenses with an 
expiration date; requiring adoption of additional health, safety, and supervision regulations; and the 
development of an online information distribution system that provides survey results from KDHE. The 
bill makes the following changes to the provisions of Lexie’s Law: 

• The following organizations would not be required to hold a license or temporary permit from 
the Director of the Office: 

o A residential facility or hospital that is operated and maintained by a state agency; 
o Child care facilities as defined in KSA 65-503, such as a child placement agency or a 

facility maintained for the purpose of providing food or lodging to unattended children.  
o A summer instructional camp provided by a non-profit, school, verifiable nonpublic 
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school, or an employee of such school; 
o An individual or group providing educational activities for children ages Pre-K through 

high school to such individual’s or group’s children; or 
o Individuals or organizations providing services defined as a day care under this act that 

are not included in these exemptions can apply for and be granted waiver as provided 
for under the act.   

 
If a licensed youth development program or school age program operates on or within the premises of a 
public or private school that is otherwise required to pass a fire safety inspection each school year, no 
additional fire safety inspection of the licensed youth development program or school age program 
would be required by the Director, State Fire Marshal, Fire Chief, or any local political or taxing 
subdivision  
 
The immunization requirement would not apply if a child’s parent or guardian provides a written 
statement that such immunizations violate sincerely held religious beliefs of the parent or guardian. 
Information and records that pertain to the immunization status of individuals against childhood 
diseases and whose parent or guardian has submitted a written statement of sincerely held religious 
beliefs regarding immunizations would not be disclosed or exchanged without a parent or guardian’s 
written release authorizing disclosure.  
 
Parent Education Programs 
The bill transfers the parent education program, commonly referred to as Parents as Teachers, currently 
under the purview of the State Board of Education to the Office on or after July 1, 2026. Grant awards to 
school districts will be determined by the Director in accordance with established priorities and will be 
reported to the Senate Committee on Education, the House Committee on K-12 Education Budget. Any 
grant awarded is to be included in the school district’s budget with proper notation of such grant award. 
The Senate Education Committee and House Committee on K-12 Education Budget will review equity of 
pre-kindergarten programs on a bi-annual basis.  
 
Enactment Date  
This bill is in effect upon publication in the statute book.  

 
### 
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House Bill 2069 
School Psychologist Licensure Compact  
 
House Bill 2069 includes the establishment of four licensure compacts, one of which is the School 
Psychologist Licensure Compact. 
 
School Psychologist Licensure Compact 
 
The School Psychologist Licensure Compact defines requirements for states to join and maintain 
eligibility as member states in the School Psychologist Compact (Compact), including enacting a School 
Psychologist Compact statute not materially different from the model legislation and participate in 
sharing information with the School Psychologist Commission (Commission) and other member states 
as necessary. The Compact would require applicants for a home state license to have:  

• Taken and passed a qualifying national exam as defined by the rules of the Commission 
• Completed a minimum of 1,200 hours of supervised internship and at least 600 of such hours 

must have been completed in a school prior to being approved for licensure; and  
• Graduated from a qualifying school psychologist education program. 

 
The Compact provides for member states to set and collect a fee for granting an equivalent license.  
 
The compact also sets requirements for a licensee to obtain and maintain an equivalent license, 
including holding and maintaining a license in the home state, paying required fees, and undergoing a 
criminal background check. To renew an equivalent license in a member state other than the licensee’s 
home state, a licensee would be required to apply for renewal, complete a background check, and pay 
renewal fees as determined by the licensing authority.  
 
ACTIVE MILITARY MEMBERS OR THEIR SPOUSES 
The Compact would provide for a licensee that is an active military member or is the spouse of an active 
military member to hold a home state license in any of the following locations:  

• The licensee’s permanent residence; 
• A member state that is the licensee’s primary state of practice; or 
• A member state where the licensee has relocated pursuant to a permanent change of station.  

 
DISCIPLINE AND ADVERSE ACTIONS 
The Compact does not limit the authority of a member state to investigate or impose disciplinary 
measures on licensees according to the state’s practice laws. Member states would be able to receive 
and would be required to provide any files and information regarding the investigation and discipline of 
the licensees in other member states upon request.  
 
ESTABLISHMENT OF THE SCHOOL PSYCHOLOGIST INTERSTATE LICENSURE COMPACT COMMISSION  
The Compact would establish a joint government agency, the School Psychologist Interstate Licensure 
Compact Commission (Commission), which consists of member states that have enacted the Compact. 
The Compact provides requirements for membership, voting, and meetings of the Commission. The 
compact also provides for the powers and responsibilities of the Commission and the Executive 
committee of the Commission.  
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The Compact provides for the Commission to pay for the reasonable expenses of its establishment, 
organization, and ongoing activities. The Commission is permitted to require and collect an annual fee 
from each member state and impose fees on the licensees to fund the cost of operations and activities 
of the Commission. The Compact requires the Commission to produce an annual report, which is 
required to include a financial review, and provide the report to each member state.  
 

The Compact also provides the Commission with the ability to promulgate reasonable rules to achieve 
the intent and purpose of the compact. If a majority of legislatures of the member states rejects a rule, 
by enactment a statute or resolution within four years of adoption of the rule, then such rule will have 
no force and effect in any member state. The compact also provides for emergency rulemaking 
procedures.  
 
FACILITATING INFORMATION SHARING 
The Compact requires the Commission to facilitate the exchange of information to administer and 
implement the provisions of the Compact, including the following licensee information: 

• Identifying information; 
• Licensure data; 
• Adverse actions against a license and information related information; 
• Nonconfidential information related to alternative program participation; 
• Any denial of application for licensure, and the reason for denial; 
• Any investigative material; 
• Other information that may facilitate the administration of the Compact or protection of the 

public, as determined by rules of the Commission.  
 
OVERSIGHT, DISPUTE RESOLUTION, AND ENFORCEMENT 
The Compact provides for the executive and judicial branches of the state government in each member 
state to enforce the Compact and take all actions necessary and appropriate to implement the Compact. 
If the Commission determines that a member state has defaulted in performance of its obligations or 
responsibilities under the Compact, the Commission would provide written notice to the defaulting state 
to describe the default and provide proposed means to remedy the default. The Commission would be 
required to offer training and technical assistance regarding the default. The Compact also defines the 
process for terminating a defaulting state from the Compact, resolving disputes among member states, 
and enforcing the Compact against a member state or the Commission.  
 
EFFECTIVE DATE, WITHDRAWAL, AND AMENDMENT 
The compact will come into effect on the date the Compact statute is enacted into law in the seventh 
member state. [Note: As of April 2025, the Compact has been enacted in six states, (Alabama, Colorado, 
Georgia, Kansas, Nebraska, and West Virginia) and is being considered in 10 other states.] 

The Compact provides for procedures to remove a defaulting member state or for a member state to 
withdraw from the Compact. The Compact would be amendable by enactment of law by all member 
states.  
 
CONSTRUCTION AND SEVERABILITY 
The Compact and the Commission’s rulemaking authority would be liberally construed to effectuate the 
purposes, implementation, and administration of the Compact. The provisions of the compact would be 
severable.  
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CONSISTENT EFFECT AND CONFLICT WITH OTHER STATE LAWS 
The Compact would not prevent the enforcement of any other law of a member state that is not 
inconsistent with the Compact. Any laws, statutes, regulations, or other legal requirements in a member 
state in conflict with the Compact would be superseded to the extent of the conflict, and all permissible 
agreements between the Commission and member states would be binding.  
 
DEFINITIONS  
“Remote state” means a member state other than the home state where a licensee holds a license 
through the Compact.  
 
“School Psychologist” means an individual who has met the requirements to obtain a home state license 
that legally conveys the professional title of school psychologist or its equivalent as determined by the 
rules of the Commission.  
 
“School psychological services” means academic, mental, and behavioral health services, including 
assessment, prevention, consultation and collaboration, intervention and evaluation provided by a 
school psychologist in a school, as outlined in applicable professional standards as determined by 
Commission rule.  
 
Enactment date 
The bill is in effect upon publication in the statute book.  
 

### 
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House Bill 2134 
Kansas Open Records Act and Open Meetings Act Revision 
 
House Bill 2134 limits fees that can be charged by a public agency in response to Kansas Open Records 
Act (KORA) requests and allows a requester to appeal a fee’s reasonableness to the Secretary of 
Administration (Secretary) if the responding agency is within the Executive Branch of state government. 
The bill also exempts disclosure of certain closed investigations, changes the date for county or district 
attorneys to report complaints regarding KORA and the Kansas Open Meetings Act (KOMA), and amends 
certain provisions related to public meetings in KOMA.  
 
Fees for Records  
The bill prohibits public agencies from charging fees in excess of the actual cost of producing the 
requested public records. Actual costs may include the cost to review requests and redact public 
records. The bill prohibits public agencies from charging any incidental costs incurred by the agency not 
attributable to providing the requested records.  
 
If the public agency incurs costs for staff time to prepare and provide the requested records, the agency 
shall, in good faith, use the lowest cost category of staff reasonably necessary to provide the requested 
records. Charges for staff time must be based on the employee’s salary or hourly wage. Charges for staff 
time shall not include the cost of employee benefits. Upon request, a public agency shall provide the 
requester an itemized statement of costs incurred by the public agency and charged to the requester. 
The itemized statement must include, but not limited to, the hourly rates charged for each employee 
involved in making the requested records available and an itemized list of any other fees charged to 
provide access to, or furnish copies of, the requested records.  
 
Notification to Requester 
When the staff time required to respond to a records request will exceed five hours or the estimated 
total cost for staff time needed to fill the request exceeds $200, the public agency must make 
reasonable efforts to contact the requester and engage in interactive communication about mitigating 
costs to fill the request. The requester is not obligated to mitigate costs.  
 
If a public agency has made reasonable efforts to contact the requester, through the means of 
communication provided by the requester to the agency, and the requester has failed to respond by the 
end of the third business day, the records request will be deemed to be ‘withdrawn’ until a subsequent 
contact is made by the requester to the agency.  
 
Under continuing law, requesters who feel a Kansas Open Records Act fee is unreasonable may appeal 
the estimate to the Secretary of Administration. The bill clarifies that such appeals would only apply to 
records requests within the Executive Branch.  
 
Kansas Open Records Act (KORA) and Kansas Open Meetings Act (KOMA) Complaints  
The bill changes the date by which each county or district attorney must report to the Attorney General 
all KORA and KOMA complaints received during the previous fiscal year from January 15 to October 15 
of each year.  
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Records not Subject to Disclosure 
The bill amends law concerning records that a public agency is not required to disclose under KORA. The 
bill exempts the disclosure of formally closed investigations of violations of civil law or administrative 
rules and regulations when no violations were found.  
 
The bill also exempts records of a public agency that contains material that is obscene, as that term is 
defined by the Kansas Criminal Code.  
 
Changes to Requirements of Public Meetings  
Whenever a majority of a subcommittee or other subordinate group created by a public body or agency, 
meets, the subcommittee or subordinate group is subject to requirements of KORA and KOMA. Unless 
otherwise stated, a private entity will only be considered a subordinate group of a legislative or 
administrative body of the state or a political and taxing subdivision if the private entity is under the 
control, directly or indirectly, of a legislative or administrative body of the state or a political and taxing 
subdivision.  
 
Livestreaming 
A public body or agency that voluntarily livestreams their public meeting on television, the internet, or 
any other medium must ensure that all aspects of the open meeting are available through the selected 
medium for the public to view. However, an unintentional technological failure or an action taken by the 
provider of the medium that disrupts or prevents such livestream does not constitute a violation of 
these requirements.  
 
Enactment 
This bill is in effect upon publication in the statute book.  
 

### 
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House Bill 2280 
Licensure for Veteran and Military Spouses  
 
House Bill 2280 amends the definition of “veteran” and “disabled veteran” in several chapters of Kansas 
Statute to include groups included under such definitions listed in Federal Code (38 CFR § 3.7). This list 
includes 25 groups or individuals who are considered to have performed “active” military, naval, air, or 
space service, and are therefore deemed a ‘veteran’ by U.S. Congress.  
 
An additional definition of “veteran” is also added to the statute governing requirements for the issuance 
of a 1st Infantry Division distinctive license plate and makes technical changes to update a reference to 
the Kansas Commission on Veterans Affairs Office, which has been renamed as the Kansas Office of 
Veterans Services (KOVS). 
 
The bill also amends the definition of “complete application” in a law governing occupational licenses 
and a waiver of licensing fees to include military spouses even if the spouse’s service member is not 
considered to be on active duty.  
 
Enactment Date  
The bill is in effect upon publication in the statute book.  

 
### 
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Senate Substitute for House Bill 2313 
Artificial Intelligence Platforms on State Devices 
 
Senate Sub. for House Bill 2313 prohibits accessing an artificial intelligence (AI) platform of concern on 
any electronic device owned or issued to an employee by a state agency. Any network operated by a 
state agency must also prohibit the use of AI platforms of concern by users who access the network. Any 
state agency that uses an AI platform of concern or has an account with an AI platform of concern must 
deactivate and delete their account and stop using the platform.  
 
Requirements of this bill do not include devices owned or issued to an employee by a state agency that 
access AI platforms of concern for law enforcement activities or cybersecurity investigation purposes.  
 
Definitions 
“Artificial Intelligence Platform of Concern” means:  

• The artificial intelligence model commonly referred to as DeepSeek and any artificial intelligence 
model that is owned, or controlled, directly or indirectly, by Hangzhou DeepSeek Artificial 
Intelligence Basic Technology Research Company or a subsidiary or successor of such company, 
or 

• An artificial intelligence model that is controlled, directly or indirectly, by a country of concern.  
 
“Country of Concern” means: 

• People’s Republic of China, including the Hong Kong special administrative region; 
• Republic of Cuba; 
• Islamic Republic of Iran; 
• Democratic People’s Republic of Korea;  
• Russian Federation; and  
• Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela.  
Does not include the Republic of China (Taiwan);  
 

“State Agency” means any state office or officers, department, board, commission, institution, or bureau 
or any agency, division, or unit thereof.  

 
The bill also prohibits medical and research facilities in Kansas from using genetic sequencers or 
operational or research software used for genetic analysis produced in or by foreign adversaries. 
However, these provisions do not directly impact the Kansas State Department of Education or school 
districts.  
 
Enactment Date  
The bill is in effect upon publication in the statute book.  
 

### 



 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

For more information, contact: 
 

 

Gabrielle Hull 
Legislative Coordinator 
Division of Fiscal and Administrative Services 
(785) 296-7840 
Gabrielle.hull@ksde.gov  

 

Kansas State Department of Education 
900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 102 
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212 
www.ksde.gov 
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